What District Court Am I In?

About Circuit Courts

The United States judicial system is broken into 12 geographic regions known as circuits. To see which circuit you are in, check out the list below.

Each circuit court has different levels of courts (bankruptcy, district, appeals) that deal with different matters. Each circuit may have its own procedural rules and processes.

These circuits can be important in determining the outcome of your case.

To find out more check out these articles about the Circuit Court system and the Hierarchy of U.S. Courts.

Circuit Court Districts

To find out which circuit court district you live in, find your state or territory in the list or the map below.

A map of the 12 United States district courts

1st Circuit: Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island

2nd Circuit: Connecticut, New York, Vermont

3rd Circuit: Delaware, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, U.S. Virgin Islands*

4th Circuit: Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia

5th Circuit: Louisiana, Mississippi, Texas

6th Circuit: Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Tennessee

7th Circuit: Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin

8th Circuit: Arkansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota

9th Circuit: Alaska, California, Guam*, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Northern Mariana Islands*, Oregon, Washington

10th Circuit: Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, Wyoming

11th Circuit: Alabama, Florida, Georgia

D.C. Circuit: Washington, D.C.

*Special rules apply to non-Puerto Rico U.S. Territorial Courts